top of page

A Coach’s Pride

The player-to-coach transition I began several years ago was not an easy one, to me. I missed taking the field with my teammates. It was almost excruciating to watch the women I put in so much time with step onto the field and know there was nothing I could physically do to help them. I’ve experienced a lot of conflicting emotions in my three years as a coach: happiness, frustration, inspiration, stress, love, helplessness, amusement, genuine gratitude. But the more I reflect on it, the one emotion I find myself filled with most often (and the one that makes it all worth it) is pride. No matter the result of a practice or tournament, I find myself more and more proud of the women I get to watch grow, improve, overcome personal struggles, and achieve goals. Every year I’m proud when I watch a rookie layout or catch a score for the very first time. I’m proud when they catch an air cupcake on the first try. I’m proud when I make them run sprints in the middle of practice and no one rolls their eyes or asks why; instead, they line up obediently and cheer each other on. I’m proud when I see someone experience that “light bulb” moment and I can tell they see the field differently now. I’m beaming with pride at a tournament when another team makes a point to compliment our dedication and commitment level. I’m almost moved to tears when I look in the huddle and see a group of confident, fearless leaders and veterans in faces where I used to see intimidation and self-doubt. And I’m proud beyond words to see and hear about the unbelievable things these fierce, strong women are doing both on and off the field. Yes, they often make me feel like an old lady, and I’m convinced they’re going to give me a heart attack one of these days...but they’re always willing to help me find the Oxford Road building. So rest assured, ladies. #LunaLove extends far beyond your college ultimate career, and in so many more ways than you thought possible.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page